Shoeless Cinderella and the Paparazzi, the Fairy Story Has a Title.

My modern fairy story has a title, Shoeless Cinderella and the Paparazzi.

What is the story about?  Here’s the blurb:

Shoeless Cinderella and the Paparazzi is a contemporary, tongue-in-cheek fairy tale about a princess who prefers Botox and social media to having a fairy godmother.  Modern mishaps abound; will the princess find happiness and succeed in finding her handsome prince, without the help of age-old wisdom and magic?  Or perhaps find something quite unexpected.

A fan of Celtic Myth and folklore, a genre where fairies play a large part in the Scottish tradition; including sea fairies- the Kelpies, and the wood spirits the Ghillie Dhu, who love the beech tree.  However, the more I found out about fairy stories the more I wanted to try and write one.  I enjoy working within the parameters of an established style, I find it stimulates and focuses my creativity; going free fall usually ends up as a stream of consciousness; useful psychologically, and nothing is ever wasted.

I wanted to explore the role of the modern woman as I have found it confusing, trying to reconcile my feminine side with my feminist beliefs.  Chatting with friends, I found I was not the only one.  I normally explore this kind of dilemma in my poetry and it was good fun trying to explore this through another medium.  I have composed a poem on this theme “High Heels” to be found on this blog and http://poemba.se/

George Bernard Shaw the great Irish Playwright when asked about genius replied, “it was 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.”  I don’t lay claim to his literary genius but I will vouch for the sweat and tears that goes into creating a piece of writing.  By its very nature it is a solitary profession, however, you don’t do it on your own so a very big thank you to everyone who has helped and had faith in what I have been doing for the past couple of years.  Special thanks must go to: Andre for his wonderful cover,

scp amazon

Joe Maia for putting me in contact with Andre and his positive support over the years regarding my writing, my nephews; Ryan whose confidence in the digital sphere has solved my ineptitude, his brother Nathan who helped me take the plunge into Facebook.

The story is now available in e book format on Amazon, links below. http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00EBUTMY0

http://www.amazon.com./dp/B00EBUTMY0

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shoeless Cinderella and the Paparazzi, the Fairy Story Has a Title.

  1. Joe says:

    I think that simplicity is a vital ingredient in the narrative of a contemporary fairy tale and you succeeded Julie! “Shoeless” ‘ modernity also makes it memorable.
    André’s ironic illustration was a great choice !
    Congratulations to you both!

  2. Thank you very much for your comments. I hope others agree with you.

  3. Wow! Amazing cover and intriguing story!!! Can’t wait to read the book!!!! Congratulations Julie!!! A huge accomplishment!

  4. Pingback: Shoeless Cinderella and the Paparazzi, the Fairy Story Has a Title. | julie ann thomason

  5. Pingback: The Cinderella Virus | a princess, the third eye and talking pandas

Leave a Reply

